The museum is now open! Advance tickets required for all visitors, including members and donors. Learn More
The museum is now open! Advance tickets required for all visitors, including members and donors. Learn More
45 °F
(0)
Currently logged out. Login
Currently logged out. Login

Newly Unemployed or Furloughed May Not Know About This Amazing Opportunity

Friday, August 7, 2020

So many families are facing furloughs, unemployment or lower income now that COVID-19 has forced the closure of so many businesses. Many of those families thought it would be a very long time before they could enjoy quality family time at an attraction or museum due to financial burdens. That doesn’t have to be the case.

The Access Pass presented by GEICO ensures that all families, regardless of income, can enjoy valuable learning opportunities at a greatly reduced price.

Those who qualify can visit participating locations for just $2 per family member, per visit. “The Children’s Museum recognized that it can be challenging for families who need assistance to visit multiple museums or attractions so it created the Access Pass program to help families who may not otherwise be able to visit cultural attractions in an effort to make them more accessible for all,” said Dr. Jeffrey H. Patchen, president and CEO, The Children’s Museum of Indianapolis.

Today, there are a total of 12 cultural attractions across the state that are proud to offer Access Pass discounts. Participating attractions include: Conner Prairie, Eiteljorg Museum, Indiana Historical Society, Indiana Repertory Theatre, Indiana State Museum and Historic Sites, Indianapolis Motor Speedway Museum, NCAA Hall of Champions, Newfields, Rhythm! Discovery Center, Terre Haute Children's Museum, The Children's Museum of Indianapolis, and WonderLab in Bloomington.

With more than 6,500 families enrolled in the program, there were nearly 58,000 visits to Indiana attractions in 2019 that resulted from families who were able to visit thanks to the Access Pass. One of the biggest benefits of this program is that it helps families visit a wide variety of attractions across the state.

Required Access Pass Documents

  • A Recertification Letter, issued by the Indiana Family and Social Services Administration as proof of enrollment in one of the qualified programs—Hooiser Healthwise, SNAP (Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program), and/or TANF (Temporary Assistance for Needy Families). A letter must be issued in the primary adult cardholder’s name and verify program enrollment for the current year.
  • Verification of benefits may also be accessed from the Indiana Family Social Services Administration Benefits Portal, www.ifcem.com. Click on "Check Status / Print Proof of Your Eligibility".
  • Indiana State-issued photo ID card—either a Driver’s License or State Identification card. The name on the photo ID must match an adult name on the recertification letter. Employee or student IDs and out-of-state IDs are not accepted.

To enroll in or renew an existing Access Pass, qualifying families can go to the Access Pass website at: https://www.childrensmuseum.org/visit/hours/access-pass. They can also visit any of the participating venues listed below to enroll in person (with the exception of Indiana Repertory Theatre and Indiana Motor Speedway Museum). Qualifying adults must be present with required documentation and completed Access Pass application when enrolling in-person. Visit the website and download the policies to be sure you qualify.

Some of the Access Pass partners offer additional discounts along with $2 admission, stretching your dollar even farther. At the Children's Museum of Indianapolis, you also receive 10 percent off in the food court. Conner Prairie gives a 10 percent discount in the Conner Prairie Store and the NCAA Hall of Champions offers a 25 percent discount in their museum gift shop.

It’s important to call ahead to each attraction because some institutions may have reduced hours or required reservations during the pandemic. All require face masks and social distancing.

Contacts for more information

Conner Prairie

Christine DeJoy
dejoy@connerprairie.org

Carol Bennett
bennett@connerprairie.org

The Eiteljorg Museum of American Indians and Western Art
Bert Beiswanger
bbeiswanger@eiteljorg.com

Indiana Historical Society
Tiffany Whisner
twhisner@colesmarketing.com

Indiana Repertory Theatre
Danielle M. Dove
ddove@irtlive.com

Indiana State Museum
Renee Bruck
rbruck@indianamuseum.org

Indianapolis Motor Speedway Museum
Kelly Hartman
khartman@brickyard.com

Newfields
Mattie Wethington
mwethington@discovernewfields.org

Emily Sogard
esogard@discovernewfields.org

NCAA Hall of Champions
Kelly Dodds
kdodds@ncaa.org

Rhythm! Discovery Center
Meghan Brickey
rhythm@pas.org

Terre Haute Children’s Museum
Susan Turner
sturner@terrehautechildrensmuseum.com

Jamie McDowell
jmcdowell@terrehautechildrensmuseum.com

Renee Henry
rhenry@terrehautechildrensmuseum.com

The Children’s Museum of Indianapolis
Kimberly Harms
kimh@childrensmuseum.org

Leslie Olsen
leslieo@childrensmuseum.org

WonderLab Museum in Bloomington
Aleisha Kropf
marketing@wonderlab.org